Travelogue

My Year in Travel – 2016

As I am writing this, January is over. Not only is it over over, 8 days of February have also passed by. And before February also passes by, I wanted to write a quick post summarizing my year in Travel in 2016.

I would remember 2016 as my first year in active and serious travelling. I kicked off one of the most wanted spots off my bucket list and went to Turkey with ‘The Wife’. It was a spectacular vacation and I enjoyed myself thoroughly. It also made me realize that this might not be my ‘only’ visit to Turkey after all. The place is so beautiful and mystical that I would be going back again. And again.

I also went to Bangkok for a 4 night trip and was positively surprised by the vibe of the city. I had a totally different impression and I am glad to say that I was proven wrong. It was part business and and part vacation so I had ample amount to roam around and get a feel of  the world’s 4th most visited city.I could not eat as much Thai food as I wanted to and I have a backlog of ‘things to do’ ready when I go next. I really want to take ‘The Wife’ to BKK.

While I was planning my next vacation post Bangkok, another opportunity to travel came in the form of a trip to Munich for a conference. I also visited Salzburg during my time in Munich, a small picturesque city located on the Austria-Germany border. The train ride from Munich to Salzburg was like poetry in motion and also a dream come true for me. If you are visiting Europe, make sure to travel by trains.

That’s basically it. I did travel to Goa later in the year as part of a company offsite but it was my 4th time to Goa – plus it does not count as it’s not an international vacation.

Some travel learnings of 2016

  • Never prejudge a place based on what people say
  • Leave at least a day free to explore even if you are booking a holiday package
  • Try out new stuff – food wise, culture wise, every wise

To more travelling in 2017!

One thought on “My Year in Travel – 2016

Leave a Reply

